Clearing the browser cache, cookies, and browsing history is a great thing to do to protect a computer. It can also help with the computer’s speed when it starts to slow down. But does this cause passwords to be deleted?
Sometimes clearing browser cache, cookies, or browsing history can delete passwords. It depends on where the passwords are stored in the first place. If the information is only saved because the login session was saved, then when this data is deleted, the password will be deleted as well.
There are many other considerations to think of when deleting this information. There are different ways the passwords can be saved, so the data doesn’t have to be inputted again or a specific way to clear cache, cookies, and browsing history. Here is everything to help with the process.
Does Clearing Browser Cache, Cookies, Or Browsing History Delete My Saved Passwords?
When clearing all the data on the internet browser, most likely, the data and login information will be deleted as well. Saving the data on a different program or method, or adjusting what is cleared, can prevent the login information from being deleted.
But don’t worry, there are many ways not to lose this information. It is a hassle when that login information is lost, and sometimes, if the passwords are forgotten, there is the annoying process of resetting the password. Then another password must be memorized but still possibly forgotten.
What Is the Difference Of Clearing Each?
Clearing each one separately has a number of differences. If the goal is to completely clear the data, there is a one-button-press-all method. But, if saving the password is the goal, here is what each one does and if passwords will be deleted.
Clearing My Cache
When clearing the cache, the passwords will not be deleted. The cache memory is temporary storage to fetch data quickly and easily. Although some more recent passwords may be at risk, most passwords that are saved through this method will not be deleted when clearing the cache.
Clearing My Cookies
When clearing cookies, this will be the most likely culprit to deleting any saved login sessions, including the password. Cookies are a way to save this information more permanently. But there are ways to save passwords and other login information, so this doesn’t happen when clearing out cookies.
Clearing My Browsing History
Clearing the browsing history on a computer only deletes just that: the browsing history. Anything that has been searched or websites that were visited will be deleted. It doesn’t mean that the cache or cookies were deleted.
This will also delete any searches on search engines that were made. Most people do this to protect their privacy or whatever they search for. It also eliminates any autocompletion that pops up when typing something in a search engine or the website box. Passwords should be safe when clearing the history.
How To Clear Browser Cache, Cookies, And Browsing History Safely
Generally speaking, clearing any data from the browser is similar in steps. It just may look a little bit different. But there are ways to change the settings so that the passwords don’t get deleted when clearing everything.
Internet Explorer And Firefox
These two internet browsers are pretty similar when finding the location of the cache, cookies, and browsing history. The terminology may be a little different, but it is easy to find within the settings. Here are the steps to follow:
- Find “Tools” or “Options” and click on it.
- Go to “Privacy” (This step can be skipped for Internet Explorer.).
- Find the “browser history” and clear it.
- To exclude passwords, go to advanced settings to ensure that the passwords remain.
- Click on “Delete” or “Clear Now.”
- Now the data has been erased.
Google Chrome is one of the easiest to clear anything from a web browser. Here are the steps to follow with the addition of excluding passwords:
- Go to settings.
- Find “Privacy and Security” and click on it.
- In this area, I can clear all data or specific things.
- Click on what you want to clear and for which time period.
- To exclude passwords and login information, go to advanced settings instead of basic.
- Uncheck the box that says “Passwords and other sign-in data” so that passwords will not be cleared.
- Then click on “clear data” to complete the task.
Programs To Store Passwords
Many programs store passwords, most of which will be paid for. This is because it provides cybersecurity and protection that a free program may not offer. Apple products offer users to save passwords via keychain.
With the keychain program, passwords are saved based on the Apple ID and not in the cache or cookies on the phone or computer. There are free programs that can be used to save passwords too, and they provide similar features to paid programs.
If free is the only route, here are some options that could be useful but aren’t as advanced as a paid program:
- Free password managers
- An encrypted or locked document on the computer
- Keychain program
- Memos or notes (password protected)
- A physical notebook or journal with written passwords
If using a physical notebook, it is best to store it in a locked place or somewhere that is not easily found. Anyone can search the desk and find a notebook that may contain all the passwords. Then they have access to all the information.
Programs for Purchase
But not every product gives this free option. For some other options, there will be a price to pay. But if keeping passwords is difficult, this is a great alternative. Here are some other options:
- Keeper Password Manager and Digital Vault
- Zoho Vault
- LogMeOnce Password Management Suite Ultimate
Each of these has its perks, but if a password program seems to be what is needed, these are the best options.
When clearing browser cache, cookies, and history, it is always safe to know the login information before finalizing this task. Although not all passwords may be deleted, sometimes it can happen. Be safe, not sorry.